Outerbanks Vacation Home Rental.
Cape Hatteras North Carolina Beach house.
Hatteras Island Beach Cottage rental located in Frisco, NC

Call Keith at (252) 305-4338
or email hatteraskeith@gmail.com
Traveler Reviews
 

Beautiful cottage and perfect location!
Guest: Jeff, Lonfon, ON

Having never been to the outer banks, I had no idea what to expect. I booked the cottage based on the pictures, description and Keith's quick response to my numerous questions. When we got there, we were amazed at how bright, clean and comfortable the cottage was not to mention the perfect location. My 4 and 6 year old daughters had a great time exploring the numerous beaches in the area and we were all able to windsurf right out the back door.
Keith was great to deal with and communication was excellent.
We will definitely be back.
 

Relaxing vacation with beach and sound access!!
Guest: Connie from Cincy Date of stay 07/21/12 Review Submitted 08/02/12

The house was great! We had three families staying at MaMaHooHoo and we had plenty of room. The main floor was perfect for a group -- very spacious and the kitchen was great. Outdoor shower was comfortable and convenient, leading straight up to the bedrooms - perfect for cleaning up after the beach. Keith has been terrific to work with all the way thru. We even called him while we were there and he stopped by within 30 minutes. This is a very nice house in a very good location. If you don't want to be in a heavy commercial area and want an area with charm, you gotta stay here!
 

Fantastic house for our family vacation - 4 adult couples and 3 kids, wide range of interests
Guest: Seth Date of stay 08/11/12 Review Submitted 08/22/12

We had a phenomenal time at this house. Hatteras is a long drive for a lot of our family, so there was some stress before the trip about the travel - this house made it more than worth it. We had tons of space for 4 adult couples as well as 3 kids (all under 10). The common area is much bigger than I realized from the pictures and has a great layout for this sort of vacation - by having one HUGE room with different "areas" (sitting, TV, dining area, kitchen) it keeps the family together while also allowing some space for people to do different things. The kitchen is well stocked and the charcoal grill got a lot of use. The beach was beautiful - great sand, great swimming, plenty of surf without the hard face-plant landings you get on the Delaware shore. The sound was also great - the kayaks that come with the house were so much fun, plus the owner suggested a good place to rent a sailboard. The great thing is that the sailboard rental company delivers, so it couldn't be easier to get out on the water. We had a broad age range and pretty wide ranging interests as far as activities go; everyone had a blast. One tip: go to the beach at night! The stars are incredible, and the crabs all come out... it's like a science museum. Last thing: after maybe 20 beach house rentals I can recall, this outdoor shower was my favorite... for any outdoor shower aficionados out there, this one is just about perfect
 

Amazing home extremely close to both sound and gorgeous beach
Guest: 3 generation family vacation. Date of stay 08/18/12 Review Submitted 08/27/12

Our family of 8 (4 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 kids) had a wonderful week at MaMaHooHoo. Each day we had a nice mix of rain and sun, allowing us to spend lots of time both at the beach and touring the nearby shipwreck museum, Hatteras lighthouse and taking a ferry ride to Ocrakoke Island. The very new home is truly beautiful, with comfy furniture and very spacious. It is well planned with an incredibly spacious family room with beautiful views of the sound. The kids enjoyed their bunk beds, and we slept soundly on our comfy bed. We really enjoyed cooking everyday in the fantastically appointed kitchen. I couldn't believe how close we were to the sound (maybe 35 paces from the bottom of the steps to the water's edge) and how shallow it was (3-4 feet deep). Our kids loved wading out to the island, canoeing and chasing after the little crabs. Having a great view of the distant kiteboarding was really nice and it was fun to watch when a few ventured into our part of the sound. The beach access across the street was close, but we preferred to drive to the public access one that is maybe a half mile further south b/c it had a changing room / shower. We appreciated the extras left behind for our use, such as the pantry items and enjoyed playing with the chess set. The owner labeling everything (like the light switches) was very helpful. The Conner's Supermarket, which is not too far a drive north of the house, had everything you could need to buy, from a good selection of breads and fresh veggies to souvenirs and medicines. I highly recommend this home, especially because it offers the best of both worlds - the sound and the beach.

 

Great Family Get-together

Robert McNally      Mechanicsburg, PA
Review Submitted July 26, 2011      Date of Stay July 16, 2011

Everyone knows that the Outer Banks is a terrific vacation spot. However, we were really impressed by this house and its amenities. The large open layout and construction are first rate. We had kids as young as 1 year old and 6 adults sharing the place and there were large rooms to congregate and quiet places to get away for privacy. The views from the porch and windows were outstanding. The place exceeds its description by far.

Wonderful time

Genevieve Lessard      Outaouais
Review Submitted August 26, 2011      Date of Stay August 6, 2011

Nine of us spent a week at this marvelous house. The house is gorgeous and actually larger than it appears in the pictures. Communication with Keith was great, he recommended a great restaurant nearby and was always prompt in returning my emails. The fact that it was 95 degrees all week long and that the waves were wonderful helped, but I strongly recommend this house and would go back. Don't forget to stop by the Scotch Bonnet for the greatest fudge you will taste! Thanks for everything Keith!

I wish I had a couple of more weeks!!!!

Guest: NoleAlums (Gainesville, VA)
Date of Stay: 06/18/11 Review Submitted: 07/13/11

I booked this at the last minute for a family get-a-way based on my internet search. Upon talking with the owner, I was put at ease about our spontaneous rental and not knowing the area. The best way to describe the place was WOW!!!!!! It was new, large, clean, and sat right on the Sound. I could not have asked for a better vacation except for the fact that I needed about 2 or 3 more weeks of sitting on the top deck in the sun reading my book looking out at the water. My wife and I could not have asked for a more peaceful get-a-way. It was just what we needed to get away from the grind of DC work. The adult kids that went with us loved the peace and quiet and the easy access to the water. I have nothing but good things to say about the experience and we loved every minute of it. The only negative thing I can think of about the whole experience other than the fact we had to leave was (why can't I own this view for retirement) !!!!! Thanks for letting us enjoy your place!

 

Wonderful view!

Guest: Becky (South Bloomingville, OH USA)
Date of Stay: 06/04/11 Review Submitted: 06/22/11

From day one, the owner was great in returning all emails with questions! The house was as advertised. Very clean, very nice furnishings, all working high end appliances. Probably the quietest dishwasher I have ever heard! The kayak was great to use. My son loved it. We went crabbing in the sound daily. The sound view is spectacular from the living room and first level bedrooms. The master bedroom upstairs was very roomy.The house had everything we needed, well stocked! Very nice, private beach. Loved the location. We ate out three times for dinner only, since it was so nice to eat in. The kitchen in massive which I love. We were all in there cooking together and not bumping into one another! The guys caught a ton of Mahi mahi, Spanish mackerel, and Blues, so it was nice to have such great meals there. This house met our expectations, and had everything we needed. My nephew proposed to his girlfriend while on vacation with us! We had a great time. Thank you Keith for allowing us to stay in your lovely home! Hope to return someday!

 

great wedding weekend!

Guest: Nana (Ohio)
Date of Stay: 06/17/11 Review Submitted: 06/20/11

We stayed here with extended family and it is a beautiful home! Very well maintained and an easy walk to ocean! A stocked kitchen with pots and pans, dishes, silverware etc. made it nice not to have to pack the kitchen sink! The decks outside are wonderful and the view of the sound is peaceful. Loved watching the wildlife! Egrets, and snakes! We collected a few shells to take back to my grandson who has never had the pleasure of going to the ocean. Nana and Papa will be visiting again!

 

Great vacation!

Guest: Family of 8 (Maryland)
Date of Stay: 05/25/11 Review Submitted: 06/01/11

The house was very nice with beautiful views of the sound from the living area. The location is great -right across the street from ocean access. Our whole family had a great time and look forward to going back again sometime. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and very accessible whenever we had questions.

   
 

Perfect Vacation!

Guest: Amy (Lexington, SC)
Date of Stay: 04/17/11 Review Submitted: 04/26/11

My family has been vacationing in the Outer Banks as long as I can remember. Luckily, my children, ages 7 and 9, love the Outers Banks, too. Over the years, we have camped, rented houses on the beach, and stayed in hotels. Our week at MaMaHooHoo was, without question, the best vacation we've had. The house itself had everything we needed, including a wonderful outdoor shower. We stayed a week and my children and I never showered indoors! The views were absolutely amazing and the location was perfect. Being on the sound was so relaxing and peaceful, yet, we could easily walk to the beach. The kids enjoyed playing and fishing in the sound and my husband and I enjoying sitting on the deck watching! MaMaHooHoo is also in the perfect location to visit local shops, pick up a bite to eat, and catch the ferry to Ocracoke. Frisco Sandwich Company offers the best sandwiches on the island and the Gingerbread House offers breakfast, cookies, and pizza that is second to none! The owner was very accommodating to our changing schedule and always quick to respond to my questions. MaMaHooHoo will be our first choice for our next OBX vacation!

   

Perfection

Guest: OBX 2010(OH)
Date of Stay: 07/17/10 Review Submitted: 10/01/10

We've been traveling to the Outer Banks for several years and have found the Frisco area to be the best. Now, add MaMaHooHoo and you have the best! This house was thought of with perfect location in mind. With it being so easy to access the ocean and the sound you can't go wrong. We have 2 young kids, this house made it stress free. With access to the sound with the supplied kayak, the boys absolutely loved it and could explore some awesome areas that we haven't been exposed to with staying on the ocean side. The house is just as all the photos depict it, perfection! Well designed layout, colors are perfect for the beach vacation. We did not want to leave. Keith is awesome to have worked with, providing all the info we requested along with even more photos than already available. Communication was excellant and greatly appreciated. So, can't go wrong with MaMaHooHoo...... you will be wanting to go back.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

Great Hatteras Vacation

Guest: Lodgerseth(Phoenix, AZ)
Date of Stay: 08/21/10 Review Submitted: 08/31/10

MaMaHooHoo was a fantastic rental house. Everything was as advertised. The views from the house were amazing. The house was VERY clean and neat. The footwashes were very helpful in keeping the house clean and very convenient. The outside shower was great as well. I would definitely recommend this house to others. The owner was very easy to work with and answered all questions in a timely manner. I have stayed in many houses on Hatteras Island and this one is right at the top of the list. The 4x4 beach driving access is only two minutes away or you can walk to the beach across the street where no vehicles are allowed. Best of both worlds. The village of Hatteras is only a short drive away with good dining options. The Frisco Sandwich Co. is only two minutes away and is the best place on the island for Lunch.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

 

Wonderful vacation

Guest: lilybird(Charlottesville, VA)
Date of Stay: 07/24/10 Review Submitted: 08/11/10

Our family had a great time in Frisco. The house was lovely, we especially loved the living area. It was so open and spacious, and the views were outstanding. Such a relaxing place, worries, and stress just melt away there. The kids really enjoyed going down to the sound daily, and catching crabs, and minnows - a great source of entertainment for both adults and kids. It was great having the kayak there to explore the sound. It was so nice to be able to walk across the street to go to the beach. It was a really nice stretch of beach - not crowded at all. We love the Hatteras area, so the house is a perfect location for doing what our family likes to do. We had a great time in your lovely home, and would recommend it to anyone wishing for a great week at the beach.

Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

 

Fantastic vacation spot!

Guest: Shannon(Rockville, MD)
Date of Stay: 07/10/10 Review Submitted: 07/23/10

This is the best spot for a relaxing family vacation. Quiet and beautiful, great floorplan, lovely home and amazing kitchen. Keith was fantastic sending us information and providing a folder when we checked in telling us local information and sights. The location is perfect and uncrowded, the beach was amazing. The location is just great for going sightseeing, boating, fishing, and swimming. The kids loved playing in the sound, it was warm and shallow so it was also very safe for them to splash around in. The ocean across the street provided more adult and active children fun. At night you turn out the lights in the house and sit on the deck to count the thousands of stars that you forget are up there when your in the city. The night sky was amazing. Best recommendation, bring your flashlights for "Ghost Crabbing." A walk to the ocean after dark and your flashlight will find loads of little white hermit crabs skittering around that freeze in the light. It's alot of fun and the kids just had a blast. I would recommend Keith's house to anyone who wants a relaxing family vacation, this is truly the place to be.

Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

 

Sunset Views

Guest: Susie(PA)
Date of Stay: 07/03/10 Review Submitted: 07/12/10

Property was clean and well-maintained. Sunsets were absolutely beautiful. Easy access to sound and ocean. Owner was helpful in letting us know when house was ready for us. Nice large open living area. Only negative - no access to bathrooms except through bedrooms. Overall, a great house. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends or relatives.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

 

Great place!

Guest: Happy Camper(Midwest)
Date of Stay: 06/05/10 Review Submitted: 06/23/10

The house and the location were great. The soundfront setting was perfect for the kids and the sunsets were fabulous. If you like to kayak, this is a perfect place to stay. You can launch right from the back of the house. The house itself was beautiful...great kitchen, living space, bedrooms, etc. Frisco is far away from the crowds at Nagshead but has everything you'd want to do in OBX. We'd go back in a flash.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

 

 

 
Site content ©2011 MaMaHooHoo LLC. All rights reserved.

MaMaHooHoo LLC
P.O. Box 719
Avon, NC 27915